Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unwanted table update

Hello.

I have a master order table and a secondary table called "products". My form does a auto lookup on the products and stores its product name and price in the master table.

Problem is when the a product and its price is updated it reflects the change in the master table as they are linked.

I want to keep a history of orders where the product and price do not change.

How can I have this and still have the auto lookup of the Product and its Price?

Thanks for any help.

Originally posted by instore View Post
    Hello.

I have a master order table and a secondary table called "products". My form does a auto lookup on the products and stores its product name and price in the master table.

Problem is when the a product and its price is updated it reflects the change in the master table as they are linked.

I want to keep a history of orders where the product and price do not change.

How can I have this and still have the auto lookup of the Product and its Price?

Thanks for any help.
    in general you would create a table order and a table orderline. The table orderline contains the (copied) productid, desc, price and tax.
    Albert Drent
    aducom software netherlands
    scriptcase partner, reseller, support and (turn-key) development
    www.scriptcase.eu / www.scriptcase.nl

Comment

I'm a little confused?

So my field that does the auto lookup for the products is linked to the product table. the product_id is inserted into my master orders table which is fine but right now if a product is updated it reflects its change in the master orders table.

Your saying I need a middle ground table?

If you could explain/example in more detail I would appreciate it.

Comment

Hi Aducom.

Sorry to be a pain but could you explain exactly how to accomplish what your suggesting?

Thanks very much.

Comment

Albert, let me help here.

I want you to think of it this way,