No announcement yet.

File Uploads... Very Confused...

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• File Uploads... Very Confused...

Form.jpgField Properties.jpgHi all,

I've been coding in PHP since 2004, and perhaps that's my problem. Perhaps I'm over-thinking this, but I'm very confused about file uploads from a form in ScriptCase...

Here's what I'm trying to accomplish:

I want users to be able to upload a file, whether it's an image or a document or measurements on the playboy model of the year, from a form. When they upload it, I want the file to be available like this:

User uploads "measurements.txt"

File appears as available here:

The subdirectories there refer to the customer_id (107) and the ticket_id (20141002.172034) that the file belongs to.

At the same time an entry is created in a table called customers_files with the following data:
    file_id int(7) No None AUTO_INCREMENT
    customer_id int(7) No 0
    file_name text latin1_swedish_ci Yes NULL
    ip_addr varchar(15) latin1_swedish_ci No
    created timestamp No CURRENT_TIMESTAMP
    To me all of the above seems reasonable, but when I've tried to create the upload field.... it does not work. The file "uploads" but no entries are saved in the table, and I cannot find the file anywhere. In addition, ScriptCase seems to want to save all the files INTO the database as binary BLOB data. Over time this will just bloat the database and make it unusable.

I'm going to try to attach screenshots of my attempt to make this work to this ticket. At the moment it's feeling like I have to code my own file uploader, which would suck considering we purchased Scriptcase precisely to avoid coding our own custom stuff all the time.

Any help accomplishing the above without a ton of hassle would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by anomaly0617; 10-02-2014, 06:38 PM.