? about workflow

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ? about workflow

I am very new to scriptcase (moving from another tool which I love hate ). Right now I have Scriptcase on my local windows machine for development and have a production server that is linux based. The publishing process seems very different to me and has some issues going from Windows to Linux. So my questions are:

Do you develop locally and then publish to a server?
    What development machines OS do you use?
    What production OS do you use?

Any advice for a Scriptcase newb?

Thanks
    TK

Kirchaj,

We actually have 3 environments, all running on identical CentOS 6.6 servers.

1. Development Environment (Development and Testing using NetMake's apache/php)
    2. Test Environment - this is where I deploy to from Development Environment (Standard apache/php)
    3. Production Environment - this is rsync'ed from Test Environment, once testing is complete (apache/php same versions as Test Environment)

All 3 environments share the same SQL cluster: dual servers with master-master replication, front-ended with a HAProxy (High Availability) Load Balancer.

We do development remotely with 4 programmers all using Development Environment hosted on our servers (10,000 miles away) via VPN

Everything works well

Dave
    Last edited by daveprue; 01-26-2015, 11:46 AM.
    Dave Prue
    Code Whisperer
    Lahar International Corp
    www.lahar.net

Comment

great info

Dave,
      This information is a great help and gives me a lot to think about. My environment is much smaller and I am the only developer. Thanks for taking the time to reply.

Tony

Originally posted by daveprue View Post
      Kirchaj,

We actually have 3 environments, all running on identical CentOS 6.6 servers.

1. Development Environment (Development and Testing using NetMake's apache/php)
      2. Test Environment - this is where I deploy to from Development Environment (Standard apache/php)